The Search for Belonging

Growing up in a primarily white suburban area it was hard for me to feel like I fit in. In middle school you’re just trying to find out who you are as a person because your not really sure. It wasn’t so easy for me to make friends back then because I really tried to look for friends who could relate to my situation and my feelings at the time but it was extremely hard. I didn’t want just any friend I wanted someone who I could connect to easily. As I mentioned earlier in one of my first posts I was fortunate enough to have a group of girls who I was adopted with that I got to connect with every year. We didn’t really discuss adoption but being around someone that looked like me brought both comfort and a sense of belonging. As I’ve gotten older I’ve grown more into talk about my adoption and my feelings which has helped me build connections with other Chinese adoptees and has been one of the best experiences I’ve had to interact with those who share similar stories to mine. At the end of the day it’s good to know there are others out there who are in this with you together and that you are not alone.

Leave a comment